Music – A Lifelong Passion

For as long as I can remember, music has been a massive part of my life.

From my childhood days and listening to artists like Michael Jackson and Madonna on tape in Mum and Dad’s car when we would go driving places, to exploring music on my own and finding out what I enjoyed listening to through radio and TV, to going to live concerts and performances with friends and family – music has been ever-present.

I like to think I have an eclectic taste in music. You are just as likely to find me singing along to Metallica, Slayer and Linkin Park as you would find me listening and enjoying the sounds of Katy Perry, Elton John and The Beatles. I am a firm believer that you should never limit yourself to just one type/genre of music. Why deny yourself the opportunity to enjoy what’s out there? To me, that is like saying you don’t like a particular food, without actually having tried the food in the first place.

There is music for every occasion. Having an awful day? Turn on some heavier tunes (Rage Against the Machine works wonders). In the mood to relax? Go for some lighter beats and songs (Instrumentals are good choices – the lack of words often allows the mind to wander and travel to some amazing places). Feeling unhappy or upset? You can go in either direction by listening to some happier sounds, or by listening to some sad music.

Then there are live performances. Whether it is a ‘bar band’ who are playing to a few people, to stadium-level shows being performed by the biggest musical acts in the world to ten of thousands of fans, music can elicit a wide range of emotions and reactions. These feelings can be conveyed by the passion of the artists playing, the message being sung across in the lyrics of the song, or by the reactions of the people in the vicinity listening to the music. It is these feelings that make attending these performances mind blowing and surreal. For those that have attended these events, I can guarantee you that they will have at least one of those moments where anytime they hear a song they’ve heard live, they will remember everything about that performance (the time of day, the occasion, where they were, what they were doing, etc), and the song will take on extra meaning for that person.

Finally, there are those other ‘public’ moments of singing, such as singing in your car or karaoke at a bar. It takes a special something to be comfortable to sing in front of other people, either from the privacy of your car at traffic lights while other driving look and listen along, or to grab a hold of that microphone at a karaoke bar and to pretend you are that artist for those few minutes on stage. I can certainly say I do not have a voice of an angel, but it certainly does not prevent me from having a go at singing something. I find it empowering if the people in the bar sing along as well – after all, we share the same passion for the music, right?

I think I will leave it there for the time being. There is probably a lot more I could write on the subject, and I may revisit this post in the future and add to it, but I thank you for reading, and please leave a comment or a like if you enjoyed what you saw.

Pete

Leave a comment